Week 1

For my first week I learned a lot about yo-yoing. There are three main types of yo-yos, fixed axle yo-yos, brain yo-yos, and ball bearing yo-yos. I have a fixed axle yo-yo which is the worst type for doing tricks. The first trick I going to learn is “the sleeper” which is where the yo-yo spins in place at the bottom of the string before yo pull it back up. The problem with fixed axle yo-yos is that it is almost impossible to make them “sleep”. The yo-yo I would like to get is a ball bearing yo-yo. They have an axle in the center, then a ball bearing around that, and the string goes around that so it can freely spin.

I also learned the proper technique for throwing a yo-yo and practiced it a lot. I used to simply drop the yo-yo and move my whole arm to get it to come up but I learned you need to throw it to get it spinning and if you just flick your it will come up on its own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *